Events

Falkland memorial, Wash Common

First Battle of Newbury 1643

Sunday 24th September 2023

In this anniversary year, join local historian Dave Stubbs for an exploration of the battlefield of First Newbury where the earl of Essex's parliamentarian army was able to outfight the royalists and continue its return to London after relieving the siege of Gloucester.

Meet at 2pm at the Bowlers Arms, Enborne Street, Wash Common, Newbury, Berks, RG14 6TW

 

 
 

For further information.

 

Erpingham gate Norwich Cathedral - Amitchell125 - Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International license Ketts Rebellion 1549 Walk
Saturday 18th May 2024
Read More

Siege of Devizes 1643
Thursday 6th June 2024
Read More

Brandon Hill Fort Storming of Bristol 1643
Saturday 8th June 2024
Read More

The first of five interpretation panels Battle of Stoke Field 1487
Sunday 16th June 2024
Read More

Chester siege breach information board Siege of Chester 1645-46
Sunday 23rd June 2024
Read More

Framlingham castle at sunset - Happy Bean Photography used under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International Framlingham Castle Visit
Saturday 29th June 2024
Read More

Battle of Northampton 1460
Wednesday 10th July 2024
Read More

John Hampden memorial at Chalgrove Battle of Chalgrove 1643
Sunday 14th July 2024
Read More

Edgcote battlefield Battle of Edgcote 1469
Wednesday 24th July 2024
Read More

Edgehill battlefield Battle of Edgehill 1642
Sunday 6th October 2024
Read More

The Battlefields Resource Centre