Events

Battle of Byland 1322 700th Anniversary Commemoration Event

Saturday 15th October 2022

10am-4pm. A variety of activities at the North York Moors Sutton Bank National Park Centre YO7 2EH, to commemorate the 700th anniversary of the battle of Byland, fought on 14th October 1322, where Scottish forces led by Robert the Bruce defeated the English army of King Edward II.

Guided battlefield walks/talks/weapons demonstration/music/archery/bowmaking are amongst the activities on offer. Exhibition stands, including The Battlefields Trust, and cafe refreshments.

The day includes the official unveiling of the battle memorial and interpretation board at 1:15pm by Adam Bruce, son of the Earl of Elgin and a direct descendant of Robert the Bruce.

 
 

For further information.

 

Erpingham gate Norwich Cathedral - Amitchell125 - Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International license Ketts Rebellion 1549 Walk
Saturday 18th May 2024
Read More

Siege of Devizes 1643
Thursday 6th June 2024
Read More

Brandon Hill Fort Storming of Bristol 1643
Saturday 8th June 2024
Read More

The first of five interpretation panels Battle of Stoke Field 1487
Sunday 16th June 2024
Read More

Chester siege breach information board Siege of Chester 1645-46
Sunday 23rd June 2024
Read More

Framlingham castle at sunset - Happy Bean Photography used under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International Framlingham Castle Visit
Saturday 29th June 2024
Read More

Battle of Northampton 1460
Wednesday 10th July 2024
Read More

John Hampden memorial at Chalgrove Battle of Chalgrove 1643
Sunday 14th July 2024
Read More

Edgcote battlefield Battle of Edgcote 1469
Wednesday 24th July 2024
Read More

Edgehill battlefield Battle of Edgehill 1642
Sunday 6th October 2024
Read More

The Battlefields Resource Centre