Events

Battle of Islip Bridge 1645

Sunday 5th May 2019

In the Spring of 1645 Lt General Oliver Cromwell launched a raid around Oxford to disrupt royalist preparations for the forthcoming campaign season.  Gregg Archer will lead a walk across one of the sites - Islip Bridge - where Cromwell's men and the royalists engaged.

 

Meet at 1pm at the information board in the centre of the village by the church (OX5 2SD). Walking is over field paths and roads. 

 

For more information contact Gregg Archer using the details below.

 
 

For further information.

 

Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Sunday 3rd March 2019
Read More

Battle of Boroughbridge 1322 Battle of Boroughbridge 1322
Saturday 16th March 2019
Read More

Battle of Cinderloo 1821
Saturday 23rd March 2019
Read More

Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Sunday 7th April 2019
Read More

Battlefields Trust Annual Conference and AGM
Friday 26th to Sunday 28th April 2019
Read More

Battle of Barnet 1471
Sunday 28th April 2019
Read More

Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 6th June 2019
Read More

Visit to Norman Cross
Sunday 23rd June 2019
Read More

Chalk Valley History Festival
Thursday 27th June - Sunday 30th June 2019
Read More

Storm of Marlborough 1642 - Re-enactment
Saturday and Sunday 27th July - 28th July 2019
Read More

Battle of Lewes 1264
Sunday 11th August 2019
Read More

The Battlefields Resource Centre